• Author: Jack Jacobs and Douglas Century A Medal of Honor recipient looks back at his own service in the Vietnam War—and ahead to America’s future. Jack Jacobs was acting as an advisor to the South Vietnamese when he and his men came under devastating attack. Wounded, 1st Lt. Jacobs took command and withdrew the unit, returning again and again, saving fourteen lives—for which he received the Medal of Honor. Here, Col. Jacobs tells his stirring story of heroism, honor, and the personal code by which he has lived his life, and expounds with blunt honesty and insight his views on our contemporary world, and the nature and necessity of sacrifice. If Not Now, When? is a compelling account of a unique life at both war and peace, and the all-too-often unexamined role of the citizenry in the service and defense of the Republic. About the Author Jack Jacobs retired from the Army as a full Colonel in 1987, after more than twenty years of service. Today, he is widely regarded as one of the world’s most knowledgeable—and outspoken—military analysts. His career has bridged the disparate worlds of the military, business and academia. Jacobs serves on a number of charitable boards of directors and is the Vice Chairman of the Congressional Medal of Honor Foundation. He holds the McDermott Chair of Humanities and Public Affairs at the US Military Academy and appears about 500 times annually on television, commenting on defense issues, terrorism, and international affairs.
  • Proceeds from this book go to the US Army Signal Corps Museum at Fort Gordon Authors: Perry M. Smith & Jeffrey W. Foley Rules and Tools for Leaders offers insightful and useful advice that avoids the flavor-of-the-month management theories that are long on speculation and short on practical application. This is a fully revised, updated, and reorganized edition of a classic management handbook. It never loses sight of the big picture of how any company should operate. It provides useful and time-tested advice that can be implemented immediately to the benefit of the entire organization. From defining the qualities of outstanding leaders to putting good leadership skills into practice, from managing yourself and others to handling the difficult tests that leadership brings, this book includes valuable checklists and reviews. In addition, it highlights some of the best leadership programs and presents a host of compelling and instructive anecdotes that illustrate the ideas throughout. About the Authors: Jeffrey W. Foley hails from Cincinnati, Ohio, graduated from West Point, and served 32 years in the United States Army earning the rank of Brigadier General. Throughout his military career he served in leadership positions around the world, in constantly changing environments, adapting to new organizations, all the time focused on the accomplishment of the mission and taking care of people. He is a speaker, author, and leadership consultant focused on coaching executives and helping them build high performing organizations. Perry M. Smith is a teacher, speaker, TV and radio commentator and best-selling author. Hundred of millions of television viewers world-wide came to know him during the 1991 Persian Gulf War for his more than 100 appearances as a military analyst for the Cable News Network, the McNeil-Lehrer News Hour and NBC news. A retired major general, Smith served for 30 years in the U. S. Air Force. During his career he had a number of leadership experiences, including command of the F-15 fighter wing at Bitburg, Germany where he provided leadership to 4000 personnel. Later, he served as the top Air Force planner and as the commandant of the National War College.
Smith’s total number of flying hours as a pilot (mostly in fighter aircraft: F-84, F-100, F-4 and F-15). is 3400 He flew 180 combat missions in the F-4D aircraft over North Vietnam and Laos during the Vietnam War.
  • Author: Perry M. Smith Courage, Compassion, Marine: The Unique Story of Jimmie Dyess: The heroism of Marine Lieutenant Colonel Jimmie Dyess is a story for the ages. I highly recommend this book to young people looking for a positive role model, for veterans of all the military services and for those who love history. Sergeant First Class Sammy Davis, Medal of Honor recipient The story of Jimmie Dyess is both remarkable and unique. He earned the Carnegie Medal for extraordinary civilian heroism when he was a teenager. Sixteen years later, he received the Medal of Honor as a result of his heroism in combat. No other individual has received both awards. This book not only tells the Dyess story, it examines the dimensions of heroism. Walter Rutkowski President, Carnegie Hero Fund Commission. The pattern of the life of Jimmie Dyess was remarkable: an Eagle Scout, a recipient of the Carnegie Medal and the Medal of Honor. Herein you will meet a man of valor and benevolence with a fundamental commitment to service above self. Medal of Honor recipient, Hal Fritz, President, Congressional Medal of Honor Society For his extraordinary bravery in the rescue of a drowning woman, Clemson undergraduate Jimmie Dyess received America's top civilian award for heroism, the Carnegie Medal. Sixteen years later, Marine Lieutenant Colonel Dyess led his battalion into combat. He went behind enemy lines to save four wounded Marines. The next day, Dyess was shot and killed. For his exemplary valor and leadership in combat, he received the Medal of Honor. May Jimmie Dyess's life of service and self-sacrifice be an inspiration to all.   About the Author: Perry M. Smith is a teacher, speaker, TV and radio commentator and best-selling author. Hundred of millions of television viewers world-wide came to know him during the 1991 Persian Gulf War for his more than 100 appearances as a military analyst for the Cable News Network, the McNeil-Lehrer News Hour and NBC news. A retired major general, Smith served for 30 years in the U. S. Air Force. During his career he had a number of leadership experiences, including command of the F-15 fighter wing at Bitburg, Germany where he provided leadership to 4000 personnel. Later, he served as the top Air Force planner and as the commandant of the National War College.
Smith’s total number of flying hours as a pilot (mostly in fighter aircraft: F-84, F-100, F-4 and F-15). is 3400 He flew 180 combat missions in the F-4D aircraft over North Vietnam and Laos during the Vietnam War. Smith is married to the former Connor Cleckley Dyess, the daughter of Marine Lieutenant Colonel Jimmie Dyess. She was eight years old when her father was killed in the Marshall Islands in Febraury,1944. The Smith’s have two children, McCoy and Serena, and three grandchildren, Dyess, Porter and Perry IV.
  • Proceeds from this book go to the US Army Signal Corps Museum at Fort Gordon.  Author: Jeff Foley BRAVE Business Leadership In the immortal words of management thought leader Peter Drucker: “The army trains and develops more leaders than do all other institutions put together—and with a lower casualty rate.” Helping to develop competent, confident leaders was the task that brought General Jeff Foley the most joy during his career in the United States Army. Developing leaders remains a joy in his life today. Since 1775, the US Army has been refining its methods for creating brave leaders capable of decisive action. Based on his own experiences, General Foley became inspired to capture the essence of what he has learned into the practical, proven BRAVE methodology, which can be immediately applied to leaders at all levels in the business world.   Biography Jeffrey W. Foley hails from Cincinnati, Ohio, graduated from West Point, and served 32 years in the United States Army earning the rank of Brigadier General. Throughout his military career he served in leadership positions around the world, in constantly changing environments, adapting to new organizations, all the time focused on the accomplishment of the mission and taking care of people. He is a speaker, author, and leadership consultant focused on coaching executives and helping them build high performing organizations. Additional information about the author can be found at http://loralmountain.com/
  • ***Proceeds from this book go to the US Army Signal Corps Museum at Fort Gordon. ***** Local Author’s New Book Tells the History of WWII Through the Eyes of Signal Corps Soldiers Key to Command by Michael Godbout Washington, DC; June 1, 2020: Mascot Books announces the release of the new WWII history book Key to Command: The WWII Journey of the 50th Signal Battalion from Iceland to Germany with Exercise Tiger, D-Day, The Bulge, and Nordhausen Along the Way by Michael Godbout. Key to Command is a compelling, behind-the-scenes exploration of the US Army’s 50th Signal Battalion—a little-known group of men who sacrificed and risked their lives to defend their country against an enemy determined to destroy it. Activated just before the US entered World War II, the Battalion journeyed across the world in support of freedom, landing everywhere from Iceland in 1941 to the beaches of Normandy on D-Day. Until now, their story has gone largely untold. Born to military parents, author Michael Godbout grew up with an intense interest in military history. In 1992, Godbout began combing through the National Archives and military records depositories across the country, originally in order to plan a trip with his veteran father that would follow the route of the 50th Signal Battalion and commemorate the 50th Anniversary of D-Day. But Godbout could not end his passionate fascination with the Signal Soldiers there; instead, he dove in even deeper. Through extensive research, interviews with veterans and their families, and never-before-seen photographs, Key to Command was born. This book is a must-read for fans of Erik Larson and Henry Hemming. Godbout creates a vivid narrative of the 50th Signal Battalion’s history. Though there are many books which document the US Army’s participation in WWII, Key to Command offers a new take on the genre: a historical record as seen through the eyes of the obscure Signal Corps Soldier. To set up an interview, reading, or signing; for information regarding Key to Command, contact Sky Wilson at sky@mascotbooks.com Link to buy the book directly  https://mascotbooks.com/mascot-marketplace/buy-books/nonfiction/key-to-command/